A DUI arrest with a BAC over .20 In Arizona is serious. When a person is pulled over drinking and driving, it can be a scary situation. No state is tougher on drunk drivers than Arizona. Those who are convicted of a DUI face numerous consequences that can be life-altering. But for those who have a blood alcohol content, or BAC, of more than .20, the consequences can be even more severe.

BAC Over .20 In Arizona Is Serious

Even if no one was injured or any property damaged, a person who is pulled over for a DUI with a BAC of over .20 in Arizona will be facing serious penalties. Even for a first-time drunk driving arrest, the penalties are mandatory.

First Instance for BAC of Over .20 Penalties

A driver who has a BAC of over .20 is referred to as a “Super Extreme DUI” in Arizona laws. The penalties include:

  • 45 days in jail
  • $500 fine
  • $250 DUI assessment fee
  • $1,000 State Prison Construction assessment fee
  • $1,000 State General Fund assessment fee
  • Attend traffic survival school course

Second Instance of BAC of Over .20 Penalties

If a driver receives a second offense for a BAC of over .20, they will:

  • Spend 180 days in jail
  • $1,000 fine
  • $250 DUI assessment fee
  • $1,250 State Prison Construction assessment fee
  • $1,250 State General Fund assessment fee
  • 30 hours of community service
  • Lost driver’s license

If a driver faces a DUI charge in Arizona, they should understand that the penalties are life-altering. A legal professional skilled in DUI defense can offer their client aggressive strategies to attack the state’s case. A driver needs to understand that not having a defense attorney can be a bad decision. Learn more by speaking with a qualified Scottsdale DUI attorney today at Rosenstein Law Group by calling 480-248-7666

The post BAC of over .20 DUI in Arizona appeared first on Scottsdale DUI Lawyers.