Arizona voters passed Proposition 206 known as as the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act (the “Act”) on November 8, 2016. The Act raised Arizona’s minimum wage to $12/hour as of January 1, 2020. The Act also authorizes Arizona cities, towns and counties to pass ordinances that require a higher minimum wage within their boundaries. Flagstaff’s minimum as of January 1, 2020, is $13.00 per hour.
Employers need determine if they are subject to Arizona’s minimum wage law because if they are then they must pay employees a minimum of $12/hour or $13/hour if the employer is subject to Flagstaff’s ordinance.
The following text is from a poster that all employers of Arizona employees must post in a conspicuous place where employees will see it:
The Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act (the “Act”) does not apply to any person who is employed by a parent or a sibling; any person who is employed performing babysitting services in the employer’s home on a casual basis; any person employed by the State of Arizona or the United States government; or any person employed in a small business that grosses less than $500,000 in annual revenue, if that small business is exempt from having to pay a minimum wage under section 206(a) of title 29 of the United States Code.
Tips and Gratuities
For any employee who customarily and regularly receives tips or gratuities, an employer may pay tipped employees a maximum of $3.00 per hour less than the minimum wage if the employer can establish by its records that for each week, when adding tips received to wages paid, the employee received not less than the minimum wage for all hours worked. Certain other conditions must be met.
Retaliation & Discrimination Prohibited
Employers are prohibited from discriminating against or subjecting any person to retaliation for: (1) asserting any claim or right under the Act; (2) assisting any person in doing so; or (3) informing any person of their rights under the Act.
Any person or organization may file a complaint with the Industrial Commission’s Labor Department alleging that an employer has violated the Act. Certain time limits apply. A civil action may also be filed as provided in the Act. Violations of the Act may result in penalties.
For additional information regarding the Act, you may refer to the Industrial Commission’s website at www.azica.gov or contact the Industrial Commission’s Labor Department: 800 W. Washington, Phoenix, Arizona 85007-2022; (602) 542-4515.
THE POSTER WITH THE ABOVE TEXT MUST BE CONSPICUOUSLY POSTED IN A PLACE THAT IS ACCESSIBLE TO EMPLOYEES
Employers subject to the Act are required to pay each employee wages not less than the applicable minimum wage for each hour worked. Note: Employers are permitted to pay employees receiving tips up to $3.00 per hour less than the minimum wage, provided that the employees earn at least minimum wage for all hours worked each week (when tips are included).
The post Arizona’s Minimum Wage is $12/hour as of January 1, 2020 appeared first on Arizona LLC Law.